Grand Master – Shimabukuro Progression of Rank

lara Avatar

He is our grand master shimabukuro.

Grand master Shimabukuro

He has attained all the 10 dans in Black belt.

In our style we the common sequence of ranks that we attain are:

  • White belt – Every one receives this by default. When we are given our uniform we get this along with it.
  • Yello belt – The next level, we are asked to do a katha, and a series of physical tests are conducted before we are awarded this belt.
  • Blue belt – The next level, here we are asked to do three kathas totally, followed by a series of physical tests like, frog jump, duck walk, knuckle pushups.
  • Green Belt – The next level, quite tough. I flunked once in this, I got my grade only in the next level. I flunked in katha.
  • Brown belt – We have totally 4 dans to complete in this level. I passed the 1st level, and due to un evitable reasons I had to discontinue my karate classes there after.
  • Black belt – We have totally 10 dans to complete in this level. It is extremely difficult to attain the 10th level. Even my masters from whom I had training where in the 2nd upto 4th dans. I am not sure about the 3 senior masters we had.
lara Avatar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *